The 8 Best English-Speaking Hair Salons in Tokyo (2026)

Updated November 2026 · 8 picks

The best English-speaking hair salons in Tokyo in 2026 include Hikaru Terada in Koenji for curly and wavy hair, One World and Gold Salon Tokyo in Azabu-Juban, SHINKA Roppongi and SOZO in Omotesando and Ginza. For men, Frank's Barber & Beer Club in Hibiya and A Cut Above in Minami-Azabu both say they work in English. Each states English service on its own site.

Language is only half the problem in a Tokyo salon. Curly, wavy and thick hair is often cut differently from the straight hair many Japanese stylists train on, so the entries below note where a salon's own site mentions curly hair or international clients. Most of these salons take bookings by phone, online form or message, and several do not accept walk-ins.

Price bands in this guide follow the lowest adult cut price each salon publishes: ¥¥ is roughly ¥5,000 to ¥8,000, ¥¥¥ is roughly ¥8,000 to ¥11,000 and ¥¥¥¥ starts around ¥11,000. Color, treatments and stylist nomination fees are extra, and prices change, so confirm before you book.

1. HIKARU TERADA — Koenji

A private one-chair studio that says it specializes in curly, wavy and Western hair.

HIKARU TERADA's site says the salon specializes in curly, wavy and Western hair textures that it says are often poorly handled at standard Japanese salons. It offers full English consultations in a private, one-on-one studio, and says the stylist is fluent in English and Japanese.

The site lists a cut from ¥6,600 with shampoo and blow-dry for women and men, plus color, perms and treatments. It states 15-plus years of experience and clients from over 40 countries, which are the salon's own claims.

Good to know: Book at book.hairisyoursignature.jp in English or Japanese; the site says appointment only, no walk-ins, closed Mondays and Thursdays.

GRANDSTATUS Kurihara 2F Mirror A, 4-9-8 Koenjiminami, Suginami City, Tokyo 166-0003

Google Maps Website

2. One WORLD — Azabu-Juban

A salon whose site says everyone speaks English, with shops in Azabu-Juban and Hiroo.

One WORLD calls itself an international hair salon in Tokyo and states "We all speak English here," with an "English Available" label on its site. It says its stylists have experience with clients from over 85 countries, and its blog includes a post on highlights for curly hair.

The price page lists a ladies' cut at ¥7,000 and a men's cut at ¥6,000, both with shampoo and blow-dry, and says a nomination fee of ¥500 to ¥2,000 applies if you request a stylist. It also has a Hiroo shop.

Good to know: Book by phone: Azabu-Juban 03-6459-4354 or Hiroo 03-5422-8692.

DKNS Azabu 4F, 2-8-3 Azabujuban, Minato City, Tokyo 106-0045

Google Maps Website

3. SHINKA Roppongi — Roppongi

Says all staff speak English and that it set up an English phone line for international clients.

SHINKA Roppongi's English page says "All staff are able to speak English" and that it was the first hair salon to set up an English phone line for international customers. It says all menus and membership cards are in Japanese and English.

The prices page lists an adult cut at ¥7,000 with tax included, about an hour, and a separate reservation fee of ¥700 to ¥2,000 depending on stylist level. Children's cuts are priced separately.

Good to know: Book online in English or call 03-5575-6767; the site lists the first, third and fifth Monday of each month as closed.

Roppongi Five 2F, 5-18-20 Roppongi, Minato City, Tokyo 106-0032

Google Maps Website

4. SOZO Hair & Make Tokyo — Omotesando

An international salon in Omotesando and Ginza with English reservation pages.

SOZO's site is titled "English Speaking Hair Salon" and describes the salon as an international one whose team understands different hair types from clients around the globe. Its Omotesando and Ginza salons each link to an English reservation page.

The menu lists stylist cuts from ¥8,250 up to ¥11,550 depending on the stylist, tax included. The site also posted a price adjustment notice on October 3, 2026, so confirm current prices.

Good to know: Book on the English reservation page or call Omotesando on 03-3478-8692 or Ginza on 03-6264-1378; the site lists Tuesday as closed.

B1F, 4-25-1 Jingumae, Shibuya City, Tokyo

Google Maps Website

5. GOLD SALON TOKYO — Azabu-Juban

Says its whole team speaks English and its clientele is over 95% foreign nationals.

GOLD SALON TOKYO's site says "Our team all speak English, a necessity for a salon who's clientele is over 95% foreign nationals." It takes online bookings and sends an appointment request if no time suits.

The pricing page lists a cut with shampoo and blow-dry at ¥11,000 to ¥22,000 depending on the stylist's experience. The site says online booking needs a card on file as a deposit, and that appointment requests need a 50% deposit.

Good to know: Book on the site or call 03-6436-0228; it lists Tuesday to Saturday hours and asks for two days' notice to cancel or change.

6F, 4-1-9 Azabujuban, Minato City, Tokyo 106-0045

Google Maps Website

6. A Cut Above — Minami-Azabu

A hairdresser and barber for Japanese and international clients, with care in English.

A Cut Above calls itself an international hair salon and describes the owner as a qualified hairdresser and barber serving both Japanese and international clients. Its page says it offers hair care in English.

The price page lists men's cuts from ¥6,600 without shampoo and ¥7,700 with it, and women's cuts from ¥7,150 without and ¥8,250 with shampoo, all tax included. The site does not state a walk-in policy.

Good to know: Phone 03-3441-7218 or use the Contact page to ask about availability.

Arisugawa HillTop B1, 5-5-7 Minami-Azabu, Minato City, Tokyo 106-0047

Google Maps Website

7. FRANK'S BARBER & BEER CLUB Hibiya — Hibiya

A barbershop whose site says English-speaking staff are always on site.

The Hibiya branch of FRANK'S BARBER & BEER CLUB is tagged "English speaking barber Tokyo" on its site, which shows "English available" beside one barber and says English-speaking staff are always on site. It has an English menu with some item names.

The English menu lists a haircut from ¥6,600, a fade cut with shampoo at ¥7,150 and a classic face shave from ¥1,650. The site says bookings are prioritized and does not state a walk-in policy.

Good to know: Phone 03-6206-3231; the site shows hours that differ by section, so check before you go.

Hibiya Sankei Building B2F, 1-9-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda City, Tokyo

Google Maps Website

8. alotta Ikebukuro — Ikebukuro

A salon whose English page says "We are an English Speaking Salon."

alotta's English page says "We are an English Speaking Salon" and lists its Ikebukuro and Kichijoji salons in Tokyo. Its Ikebukuro page lists a general cut at ¥6,600 including shampoo and blow-dry, with lower prices for students and children.

The Ikebukuro page says it is cashless only and closed on Mondays, with reservations through its booking links or LINE account.

Good to know: Pay by card or app, not cash; phone 0120-900-588 or use the booking links on the salon's own page.

Dai-10 Noagi Building 1F, 2-27-8 Minami-Ikebukuro, Toshima City, Tokyo 171-0022

Google Maps Website

Frequently asked questions

How much does a haircut cost at an English-speaking salon in Tokyo?

It varies a lot. Among the salons in this guide, published adult cut prices start at ¥6,000 at One World (men's) and ¥6,600 at Hikaru Terada, alotta Ikebukuro and Frank's Barber & Beer Club, and ¥7,000 at SHINKA Roppongi. SOZO lists stylist cuts from ¥8,250, and Gold Salon Tokyo lists a range of ¥11,000 to ¥22,000 depending on the stylist. Nomination fees, color and treatments cost extra, and each salon's price page is the place to check.

Which of these salons work with curly or textured hair?

Hikaru Terada says it specializes in curly, wavy and Western hair textures. One World has a blog post on highlights for curly hair and says its stylists have worked with clients from over 85 countries. SOZO says its team understands different hair types from clients around the globe. Ask any salon what experience your stylist has with your hair type before you book, because the sites do not list outcomes.

Do Tokyo hair salons take walk-ins?

Not always. Hikaru Terada says it is by appointment only with no walk-ins, and Gold Salon Tokyo takes online bookings with a card on file as a deposit. One World's site says to call for an appointment, and Frank's Barber & Beer Club says bookings are prioritized. The sites do not state a walk-in policy for the others, so phone or message first.

Do I tip in Japan?

Tipping is not a general custom in Japan, and none of these salon sites mention it. Some salons add a stylist nomination fee if you request a specific stylist. One World's price page lists a fee of ¥500 to ¥2,000 depending on the stylist, and SHINKA lists reservation fees of ¥700 to ¥2,000 for cuts. Ask when you book if you are unsure.

How do I book in English?

Several salons run English booking. SOZO and SHINKA Roppongi link to English reservation pages, Hikaru Terada's booking site is in English and Japanese and SHINKA says it set up an English phone line for international customers. Frank's Barber & Beer Club, One World and A Cut Above list phone numbers on their sites. Gold Salon Tokyo books online and says it is open Tuesday to Saturday.

Are there barbershops that work in English?

Frank's Barber & Beer Club in Hibiya says English-speaking staff are always on site and lists haircuts and shaves on an English menu. A Cut Above describes itself as a qualified hairdresser and barber serving both Japanese and international clients, with care in English. Both list prices on their sites, though they do not publish a walk-in policy.